A new law will require retailers at California's major department stores to feature gender-neutral toy and childcare products sections, or face fines.
The bill, passed by Governor Gavin Newsom in October 2021, is scheduled to take effect on January 1, 2024. The law requires all California department stores with 500 or more employees in the state to follow gender-neutral rules.
Assembly Bill 1084 It said any location in California with sufficient employees that “sells childcare products or toys” must maintain a “gender-neutral section or area.”
This section must include items and toys aimed at children, “regardless of whether they have traditionally been marketed to girls or boys.”
According to the document, “nursery products” are defined as products “designed or intended by the manufacturer to promote sleep, relaxation, child feeding, or to assist with child feeding or teething.” Masu.
The law takes an ideological stance while attacking the idea of gender-focused toys, saying that the implication that a particular toy is used only by one gender is “inappropriate”. Similarly, the state said it was unfair to consumers to place similar toys for boys and girls in different sections.
“Keeping similar products that have traditionally been marketed to girls or boys separate makes it more difficult for consumers to compare products and mistakenly assumes that use by one gender is inappropriate. It's implied.”
The bill goes on to state that “unreasonable differences between similar products traditionally marketed to girls or boys are those in which similar products are displayed close to each other in one undivided area of a retail department. may be more easily identified by consumers.”
The law's admission that there are actually only two genders may come as a surprise to some, given recent revelations that the state has used tax dollars to prop up gender.gender spectrum” But Governor Newsom also vetoed the bill That would instruct judges to consider a parent's support for a child's gender identity in custody battles.
Under the new department store law, failure to comply will result in a $250 fine for the first violation and a $500 fine for subsequent violations.
Do you like Blaze News? Avoid censorship and sign up for our newsletter to get articles like this delivered straight to your inbox. Please register here!