RNC announces participants for 4th GOP debate

The Republican National Committee (RNC) announced Monday night that four candidates have qualified for the fourth Republican presidential primary debate.

Former New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie (R), Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis (R), former United Nations Ambassador Nikki Haley and entrepreneur Vivek Ramaswamy take the stage Wednesday night in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. It’s planned. Former President Trump had previously indicated that he would not attend the event and would instead participate in a Fox News town hall hosted by Sean Hannity on Tuesday night.

It’s no surprise that Trump is likely to be absent from the debate, as former President Trump refused to participate in the first three debates due to his large lead in the polls.

Christie’s eligibility for the debate came after speculation that he did not meet requirements set by the Republican National Committee. Candidates must reach 80,000 unique donors, including at least 200 in each in 20 or more states, and at least 6 percent in two national polls, or one national poll and two separate initial polls. It required support of at least 6 percent in state polls.

Mr. Christie appears to have reached the voting threshold at some point Monday, just before Monday night’s deadline. Christie’s campaign announced last month that he had met the donation threshold, and last week he expressed “confidence” in participating in the fourth debate despite speculation about whether he met the voting threshold. I have it,” he said.

“The fourth debate is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for Republican candidates to share their winning agenda with the American people,” RNC Chairwoman Ronna McDaniel said in a statement. “President Reagan was the first sitting president to visit the University of Alabama almost 40 years ago, just before heading to a landslide victory in 1984. We are excited to bring a conservative message back to Tuscaloosa on Wednesday night. ”

The two-hour debate will begin Wednesday at 8 p.m. in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, and will be hosted by The Hill’s sister news organization NewsNation and moderated by Elizabeth Vargas and Megyn Kelly.Click here to watch the discussion here You can find NewsNation on the cable market and find information on how to stream the debate.

Updated at 8:46 p.m.

Copyright 2023 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.



Sign up to stay informed to breaking news