total-news-1024x279-1__1_-removebg-preview.png

LANGUAGE

MI man charged under new gun law after 2-year-old daughter shoots herself

  • A Michigan man has been charged under the state’s new gun storage law after his 2-year-old daughter killed herself with a revolver.
  • The 44-year-old Flint man is the first person to be charged under the law that took effect this month.
  • The man’s daughter is hospitalized in critical condition.

A Michigan man was charged Tuesday under the state’s new law requiring safe storage of firearms after his 2-year-old daughter shot herself in the head with a revolver the day after the law took effect.

The 44-year-old Flint man is the first person to be charged with violating the law, which took effect on Feb. 13, according to Genesee County Prosecutor David Layton. The girl is hospitalized in critical condition.

The law “went into effect one week ago today,” Leighton said at a news conference announcing the charges against the men. “This incident happened the next day.”

Michigan enacts new gun laws to mark one year since college shooting

The man is charged with first-degree child abuse, being a felon in violation of the Michigan Gun Storage Act, being a felon in possession of a firearm and ammunition, and lying to a police officer during a violent crime investigation.

The man is charged with first-degree child abuse, being a felon in violation of the Michigan Gun Storage Act, being a felon in possession of a firearm and ammunition, and lying to a police officer during a violent crime investigation.

Flint police learned of the shooting after a man took the girl to the hospital. They found two guns, a revolver and a semi-automatic handgun, in the man’s bedroom.

Michigan governor signs bill restricting firearm use for domestic violence convictions

Both were unsecured and loaded. Police said no gun keys or safe were found in the bedroom.

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Reddit
Telegram
WhatsApp

SUBSCRIBE TO

Sign up to stay informed to breaking news